North Queensland's Deserted Towns- BOWEN- MACKAY- TOWNSVILLE

Availability: In stock

Only 2 left

$39.95 Inc GST
Item Code: BG
Vol 9 in the North Queensland Deserted towns series contains an immigrants description of early Bowen and the establishment of Townsville. It also features the story of the Mari Yaamba Aboriginal mission on the Andromanche River at Proserpine, Mackay’s early sugar mills, Blackbirding, mining at Paluma, the Shrimp battery story, mining lease applications, as well as the Governors visit to Ingham.
It traces the rise and demise of many once prosperous transport and mining towns in these districts. Photos, town plans, maps, information and statistics as well as the stories of the people of these districts. Towns include; Argentine, Barratta, Blackwood, Dullawunna, East Wickham, Elphingstone, Ewan, Hillsborough, Kinnahaird, Mount Britton, Mount Marragan, Murrinda, Newry, Normanby, Ollera, Rothsay, Ross, Sandridge, and Yumbabulla as well as the respective camps.

North Queensland's Deserted Towns- BOWEN- MACKAY- TOWNSVILLE

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Product Details

  • ISBN: No
  • Author: Colin Hooper
  • Principal Author: No
This is the ninth of a series of books on the North Queensland districts and the many deserted towns and camps to be found in them. Discover the ghost towns of North Queensland in this facinating book about the deserted townships that came and went leaving behind stories have been rediscovered by Colin is his series of books. Beautifully presented in this hardcover book are the maps, town plans, photos, statistics and anecdotal history of deserted towns and camps of the Bowen- Mackay- Townsville regions. Author: Hooper, Colin Format: Hardback Pages: 83

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: North Queensland's Deserted Towns- BOWEN- MACKAY- TOWNSVILLE

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Last Updated At: Monday the 15th of October, 2018